Fitness / Random thoughts / Recipes

Unemployment Day 1

So yesterday was my first day not sitting at a desk, not in an office, and not being absolutely annoyed by the job I dislike.20130610_101006 (the mush was happy I was home) Life is so different when I have time to do things I actually love to do. Yesterday consisted of a 7:15 a.m spin class. The teacher was so surprised to see me there. I usually go to a 6:15 bootcamp type class. I told her that I had quit my job, my husband and I are moving to California, and I want to get into the teaching yoga and spinning. Believe it or not, she quit her advertising job 4 years ago to persue her fitness career. As I made my way home I stopped at the grocery store of course, and picked up some yummy healthy food for the day. Yogurt, berries, carrots, avocado, salad supplies, etc. The next task at hand was to enjoy my yummy breakfast, yogurt, fiber1, flax seed, and berries while watching Kelly and Michael of course. IMG_20130610_085527 Once I got ready I made my way to the yoga studio. It was like a day from heaven! I am always so tired when I get home from work that it is so difficult to try to make it to the yoga studio, so it definitely was a treat for me to go at 12:30. After a quick lunch, a salad with a veggie burger on top and some Jalopenos I headed to the kitchen to bake! The recipe originally came from my favorite baker Averie from Averie Cooks. So her original recipe was for snickers bars but I had left over mini mounds from another baking experiement I had so I used those instead. I used about 9 mini mounds bars to equal a heaping cup.

20130611_083958
INGREDIENTS:
  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract (I didn’t have vanilla extract at the time so I used maple syrup)
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • pinch salt, optional and to taste
  • 1 heaping cup Mounds
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
DIRECTIONS:
  1. To the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the butter, sugars, egg, vanilla, and beat on medium-high speed until well-creamed, light and fluffy, about 5 minutes (or use a hand mixer and beat for at least 7 minutes).
  2. Stop, scrape down the sides of the bowl, and add the flour, cornstarch, baking soda, optional salt, and mix until just combined, about 1 minute.20130610_153052_thumb.jpg
  3. Add the mounds, chocolate chips, and beat momentarily to incorporate, or fold in by hand.
  4. Using a tablespoon, form heaping mounds. Place mounds on a large plate, flatten mounds slightly with your palm, cover with plasticwrap, and refrigerate for at least 2 hours, or up to 5 days, before baking. Do not bake with warm dough because cookies will spread and bake thinner and flatter.
  5. Preheat oven to 350F, spray a baking sheet with cooking spray. and place mounds on baking sheet, spaced at least 2 inches apart (don’t over crowd) Bake for 8 to 9 minutes, or until edges have set and tops are just beginning to set, even if slightly undercooked, pale and glossy in the center. Do not bake longer than 10 minutes as cookies will firm up as they cool Allow cookies to cool on the baking sheet for 5 minutes before removing and transferring to a rack to finish cooling.

Question: What is your dream job? What would you do if you didn’t have to work for 1 week?

2 thoughts on “Unemployment Day 1

  1. Your cookies look wonderful! Soft, chewy, perfect! And I love Mounds Bars! Bet these were so good! Thanks for trying the recipe!

    (p.s. I actually go by Averie Cooks not, LV&Y just thought I’d mention that for the future) 🙂

Leave a Reply

