Random thoughts / Recipes

WIAW-Recipe alert!

Shameless…Do you watch? I think this show has to be one of my favorites. My husband and I anxiously await the night we can tune into this show. You’re sure to laugh a lot, cry a little, and cringe most of the show. This family definitely has it tough but watching them stick together through it all makes me come back each week.

Breakfast always has to consist of fruit for me. If I don’t start my day with some type of fruit I am not a happy girl!

IMG_20130403_084147 Strawberries, Grapes, Black Berries, and Blue berries all of my favorites. From this angle it looks like a normal amount of fruit to pair with a bowl of steel-cut oats, but since I’m so addicted to fruit I always tend to go overboard!

IMG_20120703_192232

A little Guac anyone? Well I didn’t make this one in the picture but I have to say my recipe is always so delicious!

Guacamole

2 Avocados

1 Diced tomato with some seeds removed

1/2 Onion chopped

1-1.5 Fresh jalapeno with some seeds removed

2 tbsp Lemon Juice

2 tbsp Lime Juice

Pepper to taste

Directions  Cut the Avocados in half-length wise, and remove the pit. Spoon out the avocado into a bowl and mash well with a fork or a potato masher. Add the rest of the ingredients, add any spices to taste that you wish. I’ve seen restaurants put garlic salt in theirs but I’m sort of anti-salt.

IMG_20130403_103450

For Easter Sunday I prepared some lemon and herb salmon, it was perfect!

Ingredients:

Salmon

Sliced lemon

Basil

Oregano

Pepper

Directions:

Squeeze lemon all over the salmon and sprinkle with herbs to your liking. Wrap the Salmon in foil, sort of like a tent. Place it on the grill for about a half hour and continue to check as it gets closer to the 30 minute mark.

I served the salmon with veggies on the side prepared the same way as the salmon.

Everyone wants to be healthy but enjoy a little sweet treat once in a while. So I purchased a YoNanas machine. You freeze your fruit and make ice cream or sorbet out of it and add any toppings of your choice.

IMG_20120712_192505My YoNanas consisted of a banana and chocolate chips!

What is your favorite sweet? Do you splurge for only one day a week or do you have something a little sweet each day?

One thought on “WIAW-Recipe alert!

Leave a Reply

