Fitness / Random thoughts / Recipes

A Day to Myself

Every so often I get to the point where a little R & R by myself is what I crave. I need that one day to do what I love most and be alone inside my head. I think that is what makes a relationship with yourself as well as with others stronger. You know your relationship is strong when you can say to your loved one that you need some time alone and they will support you. After a fabulous easter with my husband’s family I sort of felt that I need a day. Easter sunday was wonderful and it was wonderful to be around supportive, loving, and caring people. We cooked together, we ate together and one of the biggest topics of conversation was mine and my husbands potential move to California. We’ve wanted this opportunity for so long and right now, it’s time. As much as I love Hoboken and everything it has to offer we have come to the point that if we don’t make this move in the next couple of months we probably never will. To feel the support from the family allows us to feel like we are making the right moves and we will always have people standing beside us.

Yesterday, I had a little R&R day, I usually like to keep up with my fitness schedule and I couldn’t miss my 6:15 am class. I know it sounds a little crazy to wake up at 6:15 am on my day off from work, but it feels great to start my day so early and have the whole day to do what I want. I went to Work it Out (WIO) in Hoboken which is a little fitness boutique with Spinning, Pilates, “boot-camp-like classes”, Gymnastics for kids, Zumba, and I’m pretty sure the list goes on. Yesterday I took the boot camp like class. The instructor sets up different stations around the room. You have a designated time at each station to work as hard as you can and then move on to the next one. This is a high paced and intense class…I’m really feeling it this morning!! After my class I strolled home (I usually have to rush home and get ready as quickly as I can before I miss my train). On my way home I stopped at the grocery store and picked up a few odds and ends. Lets just say, the grocery store at 7:30 in the morning is heaven! I will go there that early in the morning any day possible. After I got home and showered I made myself a little breakfast, Ezekiel French toast with Sugar free Syrup and a side of fruit, one of my favorites when I’m home.

Breakfast:

1 slice of cinnamon raisin Ezekiel bread

1 egg white

1 Tsp of Cinnamon

Mixed Fruit

1 Yogi Tea, Tea Bag (1 Inspirational quote)

IMG_20130401_083435

After my lovely breakfast I continued to watch Live with Kelly and Michael of course and Rachel Ray. I have to say Rachel Ray had a guest on her show who wrote the cook book “Now eat this” and he makes traditional recipes, a whole lot more healthy. He pureed chicken with flour and water and using a ketchup squirt bottle squirted it into a boiling pot of water to make it look like spaghetti. It definitely as weird, but I think it would be great alterative for people who love pasta and love meat. There is virtually no carbs in that dish!

–>This little one took advantage of me being home–>IMG_20130401_092313

Once I got ready I headed to the Mat for some Yoga Practice. I belong to the wonderful Devotion Yoga in Hoboken and I love their studio as well as their teachers….Heated floors anyone? Some amazing on my cold little feet. Lunch consisted of some Sushi from one of my favorite restaurants Teak. At that point in the bipolar day it was beautiful out so I opted to sit outside and people watch, one of my favorite things to do!

IMG_20130401_134744

The waiter messed up my order and I’m never one to complain so I just ate what was in front of me. As I’m half way through the Sushi mango roll with WHITE rice (not brown) he runs out and hands be a Sushi Mango roll with brown rice and graciously apologized for the mistake and gave me a second roll for free. I didn’t need the second roll, but apparently I wanted it, because it was devoured! 🙂

My day ended with a yoga “interview/audition” I had to teach the owner of a studio I am looking to get a job at. I had so much fun doing it, I feel like I’ve finally found something I love to do! I’ll let you know how it goes, I can’t wait to head some feedback from her!!

Do you take days just for yourself? If you do…what do you do?

Leave a Reply

