Random thoughts / Recipes / Uncategorized

Body Image

I’m so excited to be leaving for Hollywood, Florida in just a few days! I am going to a conference for work but will be dragging my husband along with me! We will be heading to Miami on Sunday for a little Funday! This will be my first time in Miami and I can’t wait!!! Whenever I go away to places like Miami, knowing that there are beautifully fit people who look like they stepped out of a magazine it gives me a little anxiety. Instead, I should be embracing the warm weather, happy to get out of the bipolar New York/New Jersey weather, and anxious to spend some quality time with my husband. As I was reading through a few articles today on Yahoo! I came across one that really jumped out at me. The article was labeled Swedish Mannequins Cause a Controversy. I immediately figured that this controversy was surrounding mannequins in a store that were just way too skinny because that is what stores seem to be doing now-a-days. In this world we have a perception of beauty, our perceptions consist of stick thin models with beautiful doll-like faces and not a mark on their body. Unfortunately, this perception is taking over our lives. Eating disorders and depression has significantly risen as well as body dis-morphia. I can tell you first hand that this is no way to live, the obsession takes over our lives, we become so engulfed with what we should look like, that we forget who we really are. Back to the article, it wasn’t a controversy because the mannequins were too skinny, it was a controversy because they were curvy mannequins in lingerie. So what I’m taking from this is we can’t have different sized mannequins, so is that sending out a signal to little girls around the world that we can’t have different sized women? This article completely blew my mind! While talking about curvy women, I also read another article that the actress from the t.v show “The New Girl” came out and said that she didn’t want to be called curvy because that was just telling her she was fat. We’ll we look at Sofia Vergara and call her curvy and voluptuous and beautiful, she is no where close to being fat. Each individual is who they are, our world needs to understand that healthy eating along with exercise is how we should be living. The little girls growing up right now should never be told they are too fat, too skinny, too curvy because they don’t look like what actresses look like in the movies or the what the models look like on the runway. I would never want my daughter to walk around and feel like she isn’t good enough, isn’t pretty enough, or isn’t skinny enough. This sickness takes over lives and could lead to death. We need to learn to embrace our bodies and love each other for who they are.

On a different note I wanted to share a recipe that I absolutely love that was originally shared by http://www.theleangreenbean.com

I took her recipe and tweaked it a little bit

20130314_184546

Ingredients:

  • 2 c cooked black beans
  • 3/4 c cooked quinoa
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 c onion, diced
  • 3 Tbsp hummus
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 3/4 tsp Basil
  • 1/2 tsp Chili Powder
  • 1/4 c oats

Directions:

  • In a bowl, take a potato masher and mash the black beans well until they start to take on a paste-like consistency.
  • Add remaining ingredients and mix well to combine.
  • Form into a ball shape.
  • Bake at 400 degrees for 18 minutes, rolling them to a different side after 9 minutes.

I enjoyed mine over some spaghetti squash that I cut in half and took out all of the seeds and popped it into the microwave for 4 minutes. Once it was cooked I grabbed a fork and started to dig out the strands that looked like spaghetti.  I also put a little of my tomato sauce (Tomato puree, Tomato paste, oregano, onion, garlic powder) over top and some yummy parmigiana cheese!

Enjoy!

Question: What are your thoughts on body image and how we perceive beauty?

2 thoughts on “Body Image

  1. Pingback: Wear it Wednesday & WIAW | OneDay2Day

  2. Pingback: Are You Intuitive? | OneDay2Day

Leave a Reply

