Fashion / Fitness / Random thoughts / Recipes / Uncategorized

Natural Wine, Natural Food

It is official!!! I am going back to Europe in May! I can’t wait…good food, good wine, unforgettable views, and so much history to capture with my lovely Nikon SLR D5000!To prepare myself for our trip of course I will be shopping! I’m thinking stripped tanks and colored jeans, A-line leather skirts and colored blouses, and of course we can’t forget A-line skirt with the stripped top..a little sailor inspired outfit for the last one. Anyway, other than the clothes I prepare to spend my every last penny on I thought I would get inspired and cook some natural food with amazing natural wine. I read so many health blogs and love the recipes that they post, one especially jumped out at me. This great blog called pbfingers (this girl knows the way to my heart, anything peanut butter please!). Unfortunately this dinner recipe she posted didn’t have any peanut butter in it but the dinner was natural and absolutely delicious. I made a few changes to it so if you would like to check out the original recipe check out the blog at PB-Fingers.

Recipe: Butternut Squash, Broccoli, and Wheat Berry Mock Risotto (for 1)

C360_2013-02-05-18-02-54

1 cup chopped onions

1 cup chopped broccoli

1 cup peeled and de-seeded cubed butternut squash

3/4 cups low sodium vegetable broth (+ a little extra to sauté the onions instead of using oil)

1/4 cup Wheat berry

1 handful fresh spinach

ground pepper to taste

A few sliced Jalapeños

Directions: In a medium sized on medium heat pot pour about 1/4 (the extra veggie broth or oil whichever you prefer) in the bottom of the pot, add the onion. Cook until the onions are translucent, this should take about 5 minutes. Once the onions are cooked add the 1/4 cup of Wheat berry’s. Stirring constantly heat the Wheat Berry’s for about a minute. Add the 3/4 cups of vegetable broth, cubed butternut squash, Jalapeños, and chopped broccoli. Stirring constantly, cook the mixture until the butternut squash is mushy and the vegetable broth is evaporated. Add the handful of the Spinach and cook until wilted, add pepper to taste.

I recently got into a natural wine kick, and I thought that this may be a great paring. Check out the wine maker Frank Cornelissen. This is an amazing wine, he really knows exactly how to make wine and I have not one compliant about this wine!

WOD: Kick Boxing of course!!! My favorite instructor kicked our butts!

After workout drink: Almond Milk (my new Fave! I will have to write a post on the comparison of the brands)

Breakfast: 2% Fage Greek Yogurt, Blueberries, strawberries, and Fiber1 Original cereal

Lunch: Minestrone Soup and House Salad

Snack: Baby carrots and Organic Valley Park Skim Low Moisture String cheese ❤

2 thoughts on “Natural Wine, Natural Food

  1. Thanks so much! I wish we were heading to Paris, that will definitely be on the check list for next time. Do you have any ideas for Italy for natural Wine areas? We are heading to Rome, Florence, Sardina, Naples, Sicily and one place in France which will be Marseilles

Leave a Reply

