Fitness / Recipes / Uncategorized

Riding High Spin your Butt off!

i_love_spinning_bumper_stickers-p128620913620747762en8ys_400Spinning, what is there to say about Spinning? I conquered my first class ever this morning and I am officially addicted to it. I was so nervous going into this class because when I was in high school my knees always bothered me so I was unable to ride a bike. I thought maybe since I’ve been working out a hell of a lot more and running more and more each day I would be okay, but I was still nervous. I got into the class unsure of what to do, how the bike was suppose to feel, and basically I looked like a lost puppy. The instructor kindly asked if anyone was new to spinning and helped me adjust my bike. She mentioned that even the seasoned spinners aren’t too sure about how the bike is suppose to be adjusted so it was a nice little tutorial. With the one leg down it should have a little bend in the knee and the other one should at a 90 degree angle with the knee just over the ankle. The arms shouldn’t be to far forward so you aren’t wrenching your back. After the alignment we started our warm up we kept a steady pace and slowly increased and decreased and stood up and sat down, placing our hands at different positions on the bike. We biked some hills, flat ground, semi-hills…all in all it was just intense, I can truly say it wasn’t what I was expecting, it was better. The description of this class mentioned also working with weights, so once the class was more than half way over we sat back on our seats (still peddling) and started to do some biceps and triceps. This class was amazing and to break down how hard I worked lets just say I have never…ever…sweat so much before! I couldn’t believe it! I am the one in all of classes who is working just has hard as everyone else but my body doesn’t want to sweat like everyone else! This was great…I felt like I definitely got an amazing workout!

What do you think of spinning? Am I hyping it up too much? First timers bliss?

According to eHow Logo the benefits of a spin class include;

Building Endurance

Cardiovascular Health

Weightloss

Versatility

Be sure to take care of your body after you exercise. Just because you exercise doesn’t mean you can eat whatever you want! I love to end my exercise with a class of Fat free (or Skim) Milk (I drink lactaid Milk, I found regular milk was bothering my stomach) and a squirt of Sugar free Hershey’s syrup. Fat free chocolate milk helps rebuild muscles so why not enjoy a little 🙂

Breakfast:

2% Fage Yogurt

2 Strawberries and a handful of blueberries

1/2 cup of FiberOne Original Cereal

1/2 teaspoon of ground Flax seed (try to use the ground flax seed because the whole seeds could bother your digestive track)

This is one of my favorite breakfasts!!!

Leave a Reply

