Random thoughts / Recipes

Monday blues

Happy Monday all!

Monday has to be just about the hardest day to get up and get going. My weekends are definitely not long enough and I’m sure everyone can agree with me. My weekends are always super busy and I definitely am not the type to relax, which is something I love! This weekend was chock full of spending some much needed time with the girls! I have always been a guys girl, I never really hung out with too many boys but as I get older I can definitely see that changing. So lets see, my weekend breakdown! I never give up on my workouts during the weekend. I actually find that the classes I do on the weekend are so much more intense and fun then the ones I do during the week. Saturday I had a high intensity “boot-camp-like” well it’s called “Sweata Weatha” workout. This fitness studio I just started going to has the most catchy names, I love it! So anyway this class we do is nonstop different stations of various workouts that the instructor calls out. Lets see, we have high knees, running with the medicine ball over our heads, mountain climbers, push-ups, working with weights, lunges, squats, ab drills, I could literally keep listing and listing all of the different activities we do during this class, it’s insane. Check out the studio by clicking this link its so great! So once I got my workout in and showered up to look like a girl again I met up with some of my friends and we went to a winery. There is nothing like relaxing and girl talk over some Sangria. You definitely cannot get much better than that. On Sunday I had another girls day, this one just a little more luxurious the the last. Before I met up with the girls I took my butt to I’ve talked about this place before in recent posts. They infuse ballet techniques with yoga and weighted training. There has not been one time I’ve left this class without being sore! Such an amazing workout. If you can find a Bar or “Barre” studio around you I would urge you to try this technique out. Once I went to the gym the girls and I headed to our pampering day of massages and brunch! I definitely needed this 1-hour massage and I highly recommend you getting one! If there is a Massage Envy Spa around you, I would highly recommend this place. They were absolutely wonderful and super accommodating. Just remember, you need a little you time and time to pamper yourself. We all get stuck in this rat race of a world and forget about who is most important…YOU!

To end a wonderful weekend I headed to the kitchen, not to cook dinner…It was sushi Sunday! But to bake!!! We had some Bananas in our fruit bowl that were starting to turn bad and I hate throwing away food so i searched the internet for a healthy and yummy dessert. I can’t take credit for the recipe below but you can definitely find this plus more recipes from Dailyspark.com or by clicking the yummy picture below!

Nutritional Info
  • Servings Per Recipe: 25
  • Amount Per Serving
  • Calories: 83.7
  • Total Fat: 2.8 g
  • Cholesterol: 8.8 mg
  • Sodium: 43.6 mg
  • Total Carbs: 14.5 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 0.9 g
  • Protein: 1.3 g

Ingredients

  • 1 cup granulated white sugar
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 3/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup mashed ripe bananas (about 1 medium sized banana)
  • 1/2 cup warm water
  • 1/4 cup  milk
  • 1/4 cup canola or corn oil
  • 3/4 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees C) and place rack in the center of the oven. Line 24 regular-sized muffin cups with paper liners or spray each cup with a non stick vegetable spray.
In a large bowl whisk together the sugar, flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.In another large bowl, whisk together the eggs, mashed bananas, water, milk, oil, and vanilla extract. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir, or whisk, until combined. Pour or scoop the batter into the muffin cups, about 3/4 full, and bake for about 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center of a cupcake comes out clean.Remove from oven and let cool on a wire rack. Frost with the Ganache. <–The husband told me it didn’t need any frosting or Ganche so they are plain!
Leave a Reply

