Uncategorized

New Year, New Me

Happy 2013!!! My lucky number is 13 so I am having high hopes for this year. This past year has been nothing but a whirl wind! I got married, bought a Jetta, Jetta got flooded in Hurricane Sandy :-(, bought a Mini Cooper…and well nothing better happen to that car! It’s my favorite car, I’ve been dying to get one!! Image My husband and I had some ups and downs with our jobs and that has really taken a toll on us. So aside from my sappy story of my year of craziness, I’m looking at this year as a fresh new start. I’m not one to make any resolutions because I feel like there is so much pressure on everyone with their resolution that they have a hard time sticking with them. So, I’m looking into this year as a way to grow and become the person I want to be. 

Anyway, I am a huge huge huge creature of habit  I am the one that eats the same thing for breakfast everyday and I’m happy with that. I can eat the same thing for dinner everyday and be happy with that. So I’ve come to the conclusion that I am way too structured and need to stem away from the “norm” of my everyday life. So this morning, even though I am so sick and I don’t want to even eat anything (I know I have to eat, it is what fuels my body and what will help me get better), I changed up the routine. Now this might not be a huge change for some people but instead of my slice of Ezekiel toast with PB2 spread on it and an apple cut up I tried some Fage 2% plain yogurt with 1/4 cup of granola and some yummy fruit cut up in it. This breakfast was sooo good! Why have I been stuck in my food rut? Why do I eat the same thing for breakfast everyday? What am I afraid of? 

ImageImage <–could have licked the bowl!

So here it is the goal I am setting for myself…stem away from the usual food picks and try something new!

Along another line, for my #Elf4Health challenge today I have to set a new fitness goal. I signed up for a 1/2 marathon in May so my new fitness goal is to stop making “it’s too cold out” excuses and start training. I’ve never been a great runner so I don’t know what my times should be but I am going to do the best I can and succeed at my goals.

 

What are your new years goals?

 

 

One thought on “New Year, New Me

  1. Love the new car!! And good luck on your Half Marathon. I wouldn’t worry about your time for your first race. Completion should be the goal. Then, all future races you can work on beating your time.

Leave a Reply

